Government of India on the 23rd of December, 2005, enacted the Disaster Management Act 2005, which envisaged creation of the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) headed by the Prime Minister, State Disaster Management Authorities (SDMA) headed by the Chief Ministers, and District Disaster Management Authorities (DDMA) headed by the Deputy Commissioners, to spearhead and adopt a holistic and integrated approach to disaster management (DM). Thus giving a paradigm shift, from the erstwhile relief-centric response to a proactive prevention, mitigation and preparedness-driven approach.

Section 3 of the Disaster Management Act 2005 lays down the establishment of State Disaster Management Authority at the State Government levels. Accordingly for the State of Nagaland, the NSDMA was notified vide notification NO.DM&RR/SDMA/MTG-2011 (Pt) dated 22/11/2011. The constitution of the SDMA is as under:-

Nagaland State Disaster Management Authority (NSDMA) Members

Chief Minister    Chairperson
Minister-in-charge of Home Member
Minister-in-charge of Finance Member
Minister-in-charge of Health & Family Welfare Member
Minister-in-charge of Agriculture Member
Minister-in-charge of Transport & Communication            Member
Minister-in-charge of Work & Housing Member
Minister-in-charge of Public Health Engineering Member
Minister-in-charge of Urban Development Member
Minister-in-charge of Planning & Co-ordination Member
Minister-in-charge of Power       Member
Minister-in-charge of Geology & Mining Member
Minister-in-charge of Rural Development             Member
Minister-in-charge of Irrigation & Flood Control Member
Minister-in-charge of Forest, Environment & Climate Change Member
Minister-in-charge of Soil & Water Conservation Member
Minister-in-charge of Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Services Member
Minister-in-charge of Food & Civil Supplies and NSDMA Member
Minister-in-charge of Higher Education & Technical Education Member
Minister-in-charge of School Education Member
Minister-in-charge of Public Works Department Member
Chief Secretary Chief Executive Officer, Ex-officio
Commissioner & Secretary, Home Secretary, Ex-officio


State Executive Committee (SEC) Members

Chief Secretary Chairman
Additional Chief Secretary & Commissioner, Nagaland Member
Additional Chief Secretary & Development Commissioner   Member
Additional Chief Secretary & Finance Commissioner    Member
Principal Secretary/ Home Commissioner & CEO NSDMA   Member
Principal Secretary/ Commissioner & Secretary, Power   Member
Principal Secretary/ Commissioner & Secretary, Finance    Member
Principal Secretary/ Commissioner & Secretary, H&FW   Member
Principal Secretary/ Commissioner & Secretary, Agriculture Member
Commissioner & Secretary, PWD Member
Commissioner & Secretary, Geology & Mining Member
Commissioner & Secretary, Rural Development Member
Commissioner & Secretary, PHE Member
Commissioner & Secretary, Urban Development Member
Commissioner & Secretary, Irrigation & Flood Control Member
Commissioner & Secretary, Forest, Environment & Climate Change Member
Commissioner & Secretary, Soil & Water Conservation Member
Commissioner & Secretary, Transport Member
Principal Secretary, School Education Member
Secretary, Food & Civil Supplies Member
Special Secretary, Home Member

Director General of Police and Director CD&HG and Prisons will be special invitee.

With support from GoI- UNDP DRR project, the NSDMA began its journey in the year 2011.  A full time State Project Officer was recruited by UNDP and posted at NSDMA Secretariat to initiate an institution for Disaster Management in the State. Nagaland State Disaster Management Authority (NSDMA) took its shape in its organizational structure with the appointment of other officers on contract with the support of GoI-UNDP.

Currently, the NSDMA secretariat is headed by the Home Commissioner as Chief Executive Officer and a Secretary at the administrative level. The NSDMA Secretariat, Home Department is managed by the OSD to the Govt. of Nagaland along with other officers. NSDMA also consists of officers (on attachment) from line departments and also contractual technical staff to carry out the various functions of NSDMA.  At the district level, the District Disaster Management Authority (DDMA) is headed by the Deputy Commissioner as the Chairman along with a District Disaster Management Officer (DDMO) and a District Project Associate (DPA) for each district.